Rhythm Rhyme Revolution #3 – CD (Limited Edition – 100 Pressed)


In stock

SKU: rhythm-rhyme-revolution-3-cd-limited-edition-200-pressed Category:

A taste of the RRR #3 – 10 track CD >

Barrie Sharpe and co deliver the next installment in their Rhythm Rhyme Revolution series.

A veritable sonic triptych: awash with ever so funky tripped out modern-day psychedelia. Adorned with jazzy trumpet, sax and flute, softly undulating beats and slinky guitar – shapes that hark back to the old school with a reference to what’s current. A retro modernity is in effect here: a nod to the past, however, with a vision of the future.

It’s a strong and melodic album that drips with swaggering, insouciant cool, set against a panoply of unified silky grooves and rhythms with a slippery electronic, yet organic backbeat. It gets taken into an entirely new emotional realm when Barrie’s dubbed up vocal hooks kick in. The female vocals on ‘I Am A Woman’, ‘Walkin’ and on ‘You Are My Sunshine’ are top-notch.

Suffice to say there are no fillers on this album, just finely distilled and exquisite slow jams. Even the most cursory listen to RRR #3 informs you that he’s still doing things that no one else does. This is, without doubt, his best work to date, the icing on the cake on this clever and well-produced concept. (Emrys Baird – Blues & Soul)

Therryi Jay – vocals

Gareth Tasker – plays everything except the wind instruments

Kenny Wellington – trumpet

Jake Telford – flute

Andy Sax – saxophone

AprilFoolChild – flute

Fritz Catlin – makes sure everything is ship-shape

Barrie Sharpe – production/mix/vocals